Carnivorous Plants

11 Apr

From Wicked Critters

Plants That Eat Animals

There are at least 630 species of plants that attract and trap animal prey to consume as food. I find that incredibly fascinating. It’s like, after all these years I’ve been eating salads, creamed or garlic spinach, steamed broccoli and bok choy, the plants have actually been evolving and looking forward to having me for dinner instead.

I was speaking with a colleague at work who mentioned that he grows 29 species of the fly trap variation in his apartment. I couldn’t immediately validate whether or not there are actually 29 different species of fly trapping plants, but I knew right then and there that I must investigate the possibility of owning a carnivorous plant.

How Do I Get One of Those?

I think it’s pretty safe to assume that the venus fly trap is the most popular carnivorous plant in the known galaxy. It is so popular that it even co-starred in Batman and Robin with George Clooney and Uma Thurman. Great. But how would I care for this plant? A quick Google search produced the following video:

http://www.videojug.com/player?id=9fd5a3bb-2680-d2ab-fde6-ff0008cabde8

 

Where To Buy Some Carnivorous Plants

You have to love the internet. In less than 10 seconds, I was able to find a site called Bug Biting Plants (www.BugBitingPlants.com) and it looks pretty amazing. Not only do they sell multiple species of Venus Flytraps, but they also sell Pitcher Plants, Sundews, Cobra Lily, Nepenthes, and Butterworts (sometimes, science sucks at naming things).

I saw many other sites that also offer Venus Fly Traps but I enjoyed the Bug Biting Plants site so much that I think I’ll give them my business. I never would have guessed that some day I’d own a meat eating pet plant.

One Response to “Carnivorous Plants”

  1. wesmantoddshaw April 11, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    Reblogged this on The Nonconformist.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

